Rain holds up all of the sky


 

I look around inside

A world my baby is going to be

Delivered in

 

Are you happy?

How can I make you happy?

What are your expectations of me?

How would you like me to react?

We are supposed to be partners

 

I look around inside

A world my baby is going to be

Delivered in

 

Cockroaches scurry about

Residents of a dirty old wagon

’ soon to be family car

Washed in months’ old dirt

The red earth becomes her

’ soon to be family red

 

 

Are you happy?

How can I make you happy?

What are your expectations of me?

How would you like me to react?

We are supposed to be partners

I look around inside

A world my baby is going to be

Delivered in

 

Marijuana on the Kitchen counter

Ashtrays soaking with cigarette butts

Ash permeates the window seal

Dirty clothes spilling out of laundry baskets

Garbage in the backyard decomposes uncollected

 

Are you happy?

How can I make you happy?

What are your expectations of me?

How would you like me to react?

We are supposed to be partners

 

I look around inside

A world my baby is going to be

Delivered in

 

A house with no tables

The ceiling too low

Heat’s served on a tray and saucer

 

I look around inside the signs

Of an abundance of love

In bed and belly

How can I make you happy?

Are you happy?

How do you expect me to react?!

 

An empty bank account

The future is upon us

With open faces and smiling hearts

We wait with blame ready to be served

 

 

Pages and pages of intellectual philosophies

Prepared on God and Caesar

The corrupt systems and a stifling order

“What could we have done different

We are only a fibre in the fabric”

 

A world away from the world

Inside which my baby is going to be

Delivered

I look around

Searching

How do you expect me to react?

 

 – Reading Eileen Myles, Sunday Oct. 27

Leave a Reply

