Future Developments

when i die
will you stand shaken
by my grave and weep

will you retreat to the sea
and sing
when i die

will you, when i die
unearth an old photo and point
“the bitch. she ripped my heart right out
and like a hungry beast, devoured it”.

when i die
will you,
with me die

will it be you and I
forever to last
when i die

🙂

5 Comments Add yours

  1. tarya says:

    I am afraid he/she will not – this is me being cynical-realistic!! Sorry!!

    Take consolation and courage and satisfaction in being able to confront – hopefully – the situation, and still go on, in this poem by W. H. Auden:

    The More Loving One

    Looking up at the stars, I know quite well
    that, for all they care, I can go to hell.
    But on earth indifference is the least
    we have to dread from man or beast.

    How should we like it were stars to burn
    with a passion for us we could not return?
    If equal affection cannot be,
    let the more loving one be me.

    Admirer as I think I am
    of stars that do not give a damn,
    I cannot, now I see then, say
    I missed one terribly all day.

    Were all stars to disappear or die,
    I should learn to look at an empty sky
    and feel its total dark sublime,
    though this might take me a little time.

  2. mphoebe says:

    lol. Tarya, I think i love you
    and thanks 🙂

  3. mphoebe says:

    aaaww: this my fav. line
    “If equal affection cannot be,
    let the more loving one be me”.

  4. tarya says:

    Gal, you are on a winning side if you are the more loving one! You are not defeated by indifference!

  5. tarya says:

    ….but never ever go back to thinking that you can or should change indifference behaviour. That remains. Give your love to someone or something who / that truly deserves it.

Leave a Reply

