Earth Song II

again, I cried
not just for her
not just for him, no.
not for him

I cried for us
for myself and him and her
the three frail cats in the passageway

how did we become this
dissolved, non-existent, fictional
amongst ourselves
with ourselves, especially

how does a beautiful brick wall consume one- absolutely

Is it the hollowness of the round circles therein
Or is it the wishing pond,
from which nothing survives?
Or and perhaps, it is the cold pillars
on which we’ve accustomed to hold ?- a comfort. a warmth

I cried about the pettiness of the fickle loves
which crawls to the margins of preposterous,
beyond imagined controls

I cried about the selfish abandons
the care- less-ness
to which we confess but can never attest

I cried. deeply saddened.
I cried because I was enraged

___________________for us and them
the three frail cats
and the numerous cold pillars

The brick wall stands
So should we; forgingly

this is Earth Song I

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Sleek says:

    Phoebs, this here is has me asking several several questions…i love it

  2. mphoebe says:

    it leaves me with little answers

    thanks sleek

  3. phoebe says:

    again, I cried

    I cried for us
    for myself and him and her
    the three frail cats in the passageway

    I cried about the pettiness of the fickle loves
    crawling to the margins of preposterous,
    beyond imagined controls

    I cried about the selfish abandons
    the care- less-ness
    to which we confess but can never attest

    I cried. deeply saddened.
    ….. I was enraged

Leave a Reply

