12 again

If I were not I

saint_barbie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I would pray her too

To take my childish indulgences away

To wipe  the lingering scents of  life without responsibilities

off of my fleshy brow

 

If I were not I

I would ask her too

to thin my hips and thicken my blonde hair 

To brighten my blue eyes

To show me the suffering of others just so i can learn the right ways

proper ways to inflict bodily harm, self pain.

Ways more acceptable, respectable

 

If i were not I 

I would pray her too

 

If were not I

I would know her too

I would believe in her too

I would speak with her too

I would identify with her too

I would look at myself as a true likeness of her too

I would believe that I am the spitting image of her too

I would turn to heaven too

I would see the beauty in there which am well accustomed to too

 

Whiteness, a likenes. Men with skin and faces like my own

a tongue like my own

prefrecences like my own

traditions like my own

I would be in my own

With her

With them

My own

If I were not I

 

– illustration: Mark Ryden

2 Comments Add yours

  1. The Emrys says:

    and if i were not i, perhaps i would have been able to write this beautifully

  2. Sleek says:

    phoebe, To show me the suffering of others just so i can learn the right ways,proper ways to inflict bodily harm, self pain.,
    Ways more acceptable, respectable…Okay???that’s scary

Leave a Reply

