The V-Monologue: a Phybie Special

Like the original vagina monologues, this one is not about my ‘Grey Anatomy’, no.  It is about the things that i as a woman, uniquely go through, in silence…. i cannot speak of them, especially in public. when i have to talk about them, it must be with a fellow woman, and in hushed tones- even when it is just the two of us in the room; the world has got invisible ears my friend.

It is things like my period. I am not supposed to say that i have a period- even if it was my first. And when the cramps kick in, mine can be terrible sometimes (there are times when, for a full hour, i have thought i am goin to die), and i cant go to work, am not supposed to tell my boss excatly why i wont be able to make it to office that day.

When i tell him, or any other person who asks why my face is cringing, why am crying and why i cant sit still, they make this face of “too much information.”

I try to let my boyfriends know about my cycle (obviously it changes, so its not like my exes keep tabs on me), only so they can understand why am irritable, and overly sensitive (emotionally) sometimes.

The most heated arguments i have had, have been  when am experiencing PMS. it makes me a whole different person. I cry easily, i get frightened by even the slightest thing, i get pissed off by the tiniest of things…

So why am i blogging about this today?!

I am experiencing my dose of feb. Pre-Menstraul Symptoms; and i have become a little vegetable as a result.

Last night i witnessed a hit and run accident at the Jinja road round-about. it was a govt veichle, the new toyota hilux, grey; hit a boda-boda guy and his female passanger. They died on the spot, or atleast they were both unconscious, and i highly doubt that either one of them is going to live (if they werent already dead).

It was, for me, closer to home. i was, even right then, on a boda-boda. my friends use them just as often… so that lady could have been me or any one my friends. I went numb, then i was shaking, then i started to cry. i havent stopped crying.

I am pretty sure if this had happened on any other day, i would have been able to talk about it, to tell the story, to get mad at that driver who had no respect for the red light. I would be trying to get past it. I would have stopped crying, carrying on with the attitude “poor Souls.”

But this is not one of those normal days. i am experiencing pms. So you go figure

9 Comments Add yours

  1. antipop says:

    need i leave a poem here as well?
    i bin telling that horrifyin story to anyone who cares to
    listen. i feel yo pain.

  2. tumwijuke says:

    Bloody Mary and her envoys are on the attack again, huh?

    Terrible about that boda accident though.

  3. cb says:

    when things like these happen, u reflect on life’s meaning and sigh.

  4. me more says:

    i now know why you dont use bodas any more atleast now some of can sigh in relief

  5. The Phantom says:

    terible, that accident. and the fact that even with those creepy Arive Alive ads, the carnage continues. We are either too thick or we are as apathetic to road safety as we are to the politics of the land.

    and about your blues…will definitely know what to tick off the list when next i see you twisting ya face.

  6. The Phantom says:

    terrible, that accident. and the fact that even with those creepy Arive Alive ads, the carnage continues. We are either too thick or we are as apathetic to road safety as we are to the politics of the land.

    and about your blues…will definitely know what to tick off the list when next i see you twisting ya face.

  7. phoebe says:

    I had this amazing chat (IM) with CB about PMS, Cramps and Periods. Country Boy thinks its all good so long as all girls stop using tampoons; “I cant stand a girl who has been having sex with a tampoon while all this time i have been waiting, respecting her virginity. I think tampoons are evil”, he said.

    Thanks guys, i have almost come to terms with the events of that night (but i insist, no one should ever disregard the red light. Never drive through it. that is down right attempted murder… and murder in cases like the one i witnessed.)

  8. i saw that accident. said a prayer. i wish i knew whether they made it. they were so still…
    i’ve enjoyed reading your blog

  9. Phoenix says:

    That is scary especially to some of us who use Bodas more often than we use cars. Worry not the monthly [dreaded] intruder will be gone soon

Leave a Reply

